Page 1 of 1

UI improvements

Posted: 10 Jan 2010, 20:51
by mjng
I like your RadioSure program, easy to operate and reliable.

I have a few requests for the software, to make it even more easy... i think.

1. Option to enforce single instance for the program. Two RadioSure's at the same time are annoying:)

2. AUtomatic and manual refresh the buildin station list. It shows often station which arent and wont be available

3. Optional disable minimizing to systray or not.

4. Optional disable the equalizerbox in the middle at the bottom... Could get on your nerves. :(

good luck :lol:

Re: UI improvements

Posted: 10 Jan 2010, 21:48
by admin
mjng wrote:1. Option to enforce single instance for the program. Two RadioSure's at the same time are annoying:)
Why annoying? One is for listening another one is for recording. It's very useful. :)
mjng wrote:2. AUtomatic and manual refresh the buildin station list. It shows often station which arent and wont be available
Right. Here http://www.radiosure.com/stations/ we can do it all together! :!:
mjng wrote:3. Optional disable minimizing to systray or not.
Why? If you don't like to see it in systray - just hide it.
mjng wrote:4. Optional disable the equalizerbox in the middle at the bottom... Could get on your nerves. :(
Well, the skins are prepared by designers... You can actually either modify a skin or choose the skin without spectrum box.


You know I don't really want to put many options inside to don't get messy set of options which no one will ever understand or use. :)

But anyway thanks for suggestions!

Re: UI improvements

Posted: 11 Jan 2010, 02:50
by Guglielmo Marconi
I agree with all of mjng's suggestions, but since you don't want to add too many options (I understand the "keep it simple" idea), and others can be accomplished differently (public station list, skin design). However...

The ability to only allow one occurence of RadioSure (as an option) can be helpful. If you are mainly playing the radio, it is useful to NOT accidentally launch a 2nd copy of RadioSure (accidental mouseclicks DO happen!). Sometimes you may already have a copy running, but don't see it (it's mute and hidden). Then you launch it again, and are wasting memory. This is a minor problem, but it can happen.

Please at least consider this option in the future.

NOTE: If you do add this, I would make the default state only one copy, and add the option of allowing multiple copies. This would be easiest to understand (since only one copy is the normal way windows programs work).

Thanks!

Re: UI improvements

Posted: 11 Jan 2010, 11:14
by admin
Hi Guglielmo. I undestand your suggestions for this option. But what problem we are trying to solve by this option?

By this option we are just solving a single click problem - if you just see that there are 2 instances it's just one click to close another instance. It happens to me sometimes - and I just click and close the second instance, very simple. :)
Guglielmo Marconi wrote:(since only one copy is the normal way windows programs work).
I don't say it's quite correct. Browsers (IE, Opera, Chrome) - you can run many copies of them. MS Word, Excel and many others - you can open many windows of them. And then you can easily close windows which you don't need. :)

Actually, running many instances is a very important feature of radiosure - it allows you to record many stations at the same time simultaniously! :)

Re: UI improvements

Posted: 13 Jan 2010, 12:40
by mjng
Hmm

In Windows 7 the systray is hidden, for some icons that is. Actually in many cases you dont see that RadioSure is running, as i experienced often.

I am a bit disappointed in the reaction by RadioSure. The option could even be just a line in the settings file, and i assume / know its easy to make.

BTW, the first time i reacted here on the site, the whole thing went down. So for future use, type in ur comments in notepad;)
\

Re: UI improvements

Posted: 30 Jan 2010, 21:49
by Guglielmo Marconi
mjng wrote:4. Optional disable the equalizerbox in the middle at the bottom... Could get on your nerves. :(
mjng,

You may want to try the free skin BluHarc http://www.radiosure.com/2009/05/14/blueharc-skin/.

Its collapsed display doesn't contain the equalizer, yet the display is big enough to be usable most of the time. Even with the expanded display, the EQ isn't that annoying.

The author's BlackHarc skin has an even smaller EQ in expanded mode, but the collapsed mode display (without an EQ) is too small for my taste.

Hope this helps!

Re: UI improvements

Posted: 13 Mar 2010, 15:58
by Mouffi
admin wrote:
mjng wrote:3. Optional disable minimizing to systray or not.
Why? If you don't like to see it in systray - just hide it.
Hello.
I believe that mjng was meaning to keep a minimised button in task bar instead of have compulsory minimisation in notification area (systray).


Beside this remark, I have one single request:
- when minimised in systray, it would be useful to have a notification (popup) balloon for few seconds with new track name at each change of track (like VLC does).
Currently the balloon is only displayed by pointing the mouse on systray icon (which is also useful to know the name of the track at any time).
With this feature, we'll just have to read it while keeping working in any other application (no need to take the mouse to get the information).

Thanks again for this very light, simple of convenient program I already use for few years.

Re: UI improvements

Posted: 13 Mar 2010, 18:23
by admin
It's already done in latest testing version - please try it.