How to look for duplicates in Radio Sure (use http://www.radiosure.com/rsdbms/stations2.zip )

Please post your suggestions here
User avatar
Fonzy
Posts: 558
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 22:43
Location: Belgium

Re: How to look for duplicates in Radio Sure (use http://www.radiosure.com/rsdbms/stations2.zip )

Post by Fonzy » 27 May 2021, 20:59

in the radiosure\stations folder, you may delete everything except the recentest rsd file, even the rsdx file is not needed for good working
The link provided , downloads to the standard (default) download folder, and it depends on your browser to set that location. The download is a zip file , so it has to be unpacked before to send to the stations folder. Since the date is incorporated in the unzip-filename, the old rsd file is not overwritten but stays in the folder, and there is the tricky thing... which rsd file will the program use ?, the first encountered of course, but that is not by default the first you see in the (sorted) file list of stations-folder. It depends on the seeking of the harddisk in the MBR or the index sector for files which is first found. SO it is important to let ONLY one rsd file in that folder, the most recent one
Aside this issues:
I solved all this by use of a batch file (good old DOS, still working even on Win10) where I start a browser with argument the link for download. Then a wait line , checking if download is completed (filename Stations(2).zip exists, and after a few seconds delay, unpack(unzip) the file and move the rsd to stations folder. After success, delete te downloaded zip and close the browser by dos-command.
Then I start my database (msaccess)(in next batch line) to update the data with the rsd contents, and first copy the original to a stations-2 internal, for conserving the websites, (those are NOT in the rsd file).
After stations in the database is that of rsd file, I sync the" stations-2" with " stations" in the database for the field "website", with key : "stationsname" must equal. For that , it is important to keep the stationsname unchanged in time, else the changed stationsname loses its website, and must be corrected manually
Looks complicated, and had some experiments to look for the behaviour of different browsers , for the "look for file complete" at download. But the result = one click on a desktop icon to start the whole process automatic
(note: because of the different behaviour of browsers, and depending upon the operating system, and the permissions of the user on the pc, I cannot just publish my version of the 2 linked batch files that fix the job)

eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B
Posts: 82
Joined: 20 Nov 2016, 04:34

Re: How to look for duplicates in Radio Sure (use http://www.radiosure.com/rsdbms/stations2.zip )

Post by eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B » 27 May 2021, 22:38

Hello Lapsang,

I have uninstalled the program. I found it did the first download load but no subsequent downloads.

I am not trying to update my RS folder. I am just trying to have a backup copy of the database in case the system administrator loses the database as had occurred a few years ago. We were able to recover from Fonzy's backup.

Try opening a windows powershell with the Windows+R key, then type
curl http://www.radiosure.com/rsdbms/stations2.zip -o C:\TestRS\stations2.zip

That works, but if there is no file to download, it will overwrite your latest copy with an empty file. See https://idiallo.com/blog/download-file- ... mmand-line

You can automate that with Windows task manager.

I've given up for now. ;) Please keep us up to date if you discover a better way.

User avatar
Lapsang
Posts: 120
Joined: 21 Sep 2014, 12:59
Location: South East of the Netherlands, in between Belgium and Germany

Re: How to look for duplicates in Radio Sure (use http://www.radiosure.com/rsdbms/stations2.zip )

Post by Lapsang » 28 May 2021, 16:31

eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9 wrote:I found it did the first download load but no subsequent downloads.

I've given up for now. ;)
Yes, same here. I also gave up. Back to the old situation: just wait for the weekly update.

And Fonzy: You said "Looks complicated".

Understatement of the year. 8-)

eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B
Posts: 82
Joined: 20 Nov 2016, 04:34

Re: How to look for duplicates in Radio Sure (use http://www.radiosure.com/rsdbms/stations2.zip )

Post by eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B » 28 May 2021, 16:49

Hi Lapsang,

I found the same problem with that application. It downloaded once only on schedule, but not on a recurring basis.

I found this article and followed what it suggests. It works for Windows.

https://docparser.com/blog/how-to-sched ... scheduler/

my .ps1 file name is RadioSure-Monday-Task.ps1 . I created it in Notepad and has two lines:

$client=new-object System.Net.WebClient
$client.DownloadFile("http://www.radiosure.com/rsdbms/station ... Monday.zip")

I run a WindowsTask every monday to get a weekly download. I run similar downloads for the other 6 days per week to keep the last 7 days of the file, otherwise the newest version will be the only version available. Also, if you have a problem with your internet connection, you will get your old file deleted but not replaced. I figure if I do a daily download and daily backup, I will have access to the latest file.

eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B

eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B
Posts: 82
Joined: 20 Nov 2016, 04:34

Re: How to look for duplicates in Radio Sure (use http://www.radiosure.com/rsdbms/stations2.zip )

Post by eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B » 28 May 2021, 19:34

Forgot to mention, Windows Task Scheduler allows you to to specify that it run your task only if you have an internet connection (See the CONDITIONS tab). I recommend that setting so that you do no delete the old file and not replace it with a newer one. There is still a problem if Radiosure.com is offline when you run the script above - it will delete your old file and not replace it.

koroedd
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Apr 2021, 12:21

Re: How to look for duplicates in Radio Sure (use http://www.radiosure.com/rsdbms/stations2.zip )

Post by koroedd » 29 Jun 2021, 14:22

Hello! Just find out one thing: if delete FIRST string in .rsd file (about CRY 104 fm ID43) in text manager (Notepad++ i.e.), then database of radiostation will not be crashed, it's working as well. ;) Just check this out on new database stations-2021-06-29.rsd and "CRY 104 fm" is seeking in the list.

User avatar
Fonzy
Posts: 558
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 22:43
Location: Belgium

Re: How to look for duplicates in Radio Sure (use http://www.radiosure.com/rsdbms/stations2.zip )

Post by Fonzy » 29 Jun 2021, 16:20

If you read previous posts about Cry 104, you find that this station is NEEDED to fill the first line in the rsd file. Of course you can delete that line in the rsd file, but then an other station disappears in your radiosure listing, because ('bug) the first station is supposed to be "labels", not real data. This is told to admins over many years, but never solved problem. This can only be solved in one of 2 ways: 1 - or, the datbase extract (rsd file) gets an extra line with labels,2- or, the radio itself is changed, so that first line is NOT seen as labels, in other words, the rsd filecontains no labels.
Meanwhile , we must just duplicate the first station, so it keeps visible in the rsd file (once it is handled by the radio)
Since it appears there is no admin or anyone who can program at the RS site, there is no chance at all this wil ever be solved...
So, advice: keep ID 863 alone and do not attempt to change anything on it, cause then the ID 863 is lost, and I have to duplicate again the first line
Note also: the ID you give is not the ID of the database... the ID is NOT sent to the rsd file !! The database ID of Cry 104 is 863, and if you delete cry in your rsd file, then you lose the new first record in your radio player (assumed you use radiosure of course, but that is what the rsd file is meant for..)

eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B
Posts: 82
Joined: 20 Nov 2016, 04:34

Re: How to look for duplicates in Radio Sure (use http://www.radiosure.com/rsdbms/stations2.zip )

Post by eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B » 03 Aug 2021, 23:27

koroedd, Thanks for your work in finding duplicates!

Post Reply