RS only connects http ( and sometimes https)

All questions about using RadioSure.
Post Reply
User avatar
Fonzy
Posts: 481
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 22:43
Location: Belgium

RS only connects http ( and sometimes https)

Post by Fonzy » 27 Dec 2019, 17:33

Hi all,
To begin with, happy old-year2019, also successfull and healty new year to You all and Your family.

Recent I got a notebook as present, and after configuation, I tried to install RadioSure (of course)
The sytem was Windows 10 S ( S standing for "secure " ? or special, ?, after reading the specs, I found that only apps from the Microsoft store could be installed, and radiosure is certainly not available there, so I had to change the S version to a full home version, so I could install app from anywhere, so I did)
- after install, I could not find the radio, it did not place a pictogram on the desktop. Also I was unable to create a shortcut from the programm, while (despite been a admin on my pc) I had no access to installed apps-folder weird!!!
so I installed in a new created map as portable, and then it works fine. (Folder was accesible and could create a shortcut to desktop)
- so far why I now have a pc with win 10, and one with winXP.
Of course, as soon as a station with https sources was submitted I tested out on the win 10, and on the XP, and guess what...? Streams https,not connecting in the XP machine , did flawlessly connect on the win10 machine, so it matters on which device the radiosure is installed, and not only depends on the server, the ISP or whatever, but mainly on which Operating System it is installed (I guess, the OS converts te streams automatically from https to http if the device needs that .
So my suggestion is : always use http where possible, to avoid that radio not connects on older computers (who are still used , I can ensure You !!), Or try out on an old PC with RS if you can , and give a sign in the comments that https works on older OS'es
Thanks

User avatar
Lapsang
Posts: 71
Joined: 21 Sep 2014, 12:59
Location: South East of the Netherlands, in between Belgium and Germany

Re: RS only connects http ( and sometimes https)

Post by Lapsang » 28 Dec 2019, 14:12

Hello Fonzy,

What I would suggest: if a station does not play on your computer, try to replace https with http.

So: let the end-user do this.

Testing a stream if it works or not, should be enough, in my opinion.

User avatar
Fonzy
Posts: 481
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 22:43
Location: Belgium

Re: RS only connects http ( and sometimes https)

Post by Fonzy » 28 Dec 2019, 15:21

Suggestion is not correct, since normal users donot attempt to change stream in the radiosure player (they even do not know how to..!!, so it is to us , to prvent the stations not playing on older computers or other systems (my opinion)

User avatar
Lapsang
Posts: 71
Joined: 21 Sep 2014, 12:59
Location: South East of the Netherlands, in between Belgium and Germany

Re: RS only connects http ( and sometimes https)

Post by Lapsang » 28 Dec 2019, 18:19

Hello Fonzy,

Another incorrect suggestion: let the approvers of streaming urls remove the s if they feel like doing that. Approvers unite.

I never used anything else than Windows 7 and in some cases I had to remove the s, so it’s not purely a system thing.

User avatar
Fonzy
Posts: 481
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 22:43
Location: Belgium

Re: RS only connects http ( and sometimes https)

Post by Fonzy » 28 Dec 2019, 20:25

I stick to the suggestion for creators and editors: try the streams with http, and if working, submit http and not https, so all users are assured that stations connect
Other suggestion: do submit, in case of more stream choices, the fastest bitrates first. Then the lower ones, because the radio locks in on the first working stream ( and that can be the worst quality, if streams are randomly filled in sources 1 -- 6, --also avoid to submit websites and webplayers in source 1, since the radio can hang on it or message "not connect"

eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B
Posts: 45
Joined: 20 Nov 2016, 04:34

Re: RS only connects http ( and sometimes https)

Post by eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B » 03 Aug 2020, 19:46

Agreed with your suggestions above, Fonzy. I would add another. Try to avoid Sources with hard coded IP addresses if you can - they change too often. Instead, pick one that is designed not to change as the servers and their IP addresses change. For example, choose one with a format such as http://playerservices.streamtheworld.co ... LFMAAC.pls rather than one with a format like http://19303.live.streamtheworld.com:80/WMALFMAAC_SC or http://142.44.217.210:9852/; (Note that those are actual sources in RS )
Last edited by eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B on 03 Aug 2020, 21:20, edited 2 times in total.

eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B
Posts: 45
Joined: 20 Nov 2016, 04:34

Some Station's web player connect only with http too! Re: RS only connects http ( and sometimes https)

Post by eMzw7gJ2NjEdmoNkiR9B » 01 Sep 2020, 16:30

I've updated a lot of stations and found that many will not play on the stations on web page or web player!!! Upon further analysis, I see the web player is trying to play https and it will not stream. When I try http for the same stream, it plays in RS an VLC. This also happens a lot on Tunein web pages.

Another suggestion, the https and http often use different port numbers. Commonly when you see port 8443 for https, port 800 will work for http. Others use the 9000 series ports for https streams and a corresponding 8000 series port for http streams.

Post Reply