Unrecoverable trapped in taskmanager after Escape ...

All questions about using RadioSure.
Post Reply
vorticity
Posts: 12
Joined: 26 Dec 2015, 15:00

Unrecoverable trapped in taskmanager after Escape ...

Post by vorticity » 16 Mar 2020, 17:39

Dear all,

I love Radiosure, but I am a little bit annoyed by the following:

when hitting Escape (mostly inadvertently, of course) Radiosure disappears and can only be accessed (i.e. killed) using the Windows taskmanager. No recovery option.

'Inadvertent Escape' this happens if more tasks are open, I want to hit Escape in one task - but the active task is Radiosure...

What am I missing ?

Thanks, Bernd


PS Radiosure is so cool - how do I use it?

1. More instances with set stations, each called Radio1, Radio2 .... Like station keys...
2. Starting Radiosure via cronjob with set duration of recording.

That's it. So cool!

User avatar
Fonzy
Posts: 554
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 22:43
Location: Belgium

Re: Unrecoverable trapped in taskmanager after Escape ...

Post by Fonzy » 16 Mar 2020, 19:23

How does the F5 key tapped , ??, that should restore / refresh the desktop (where your RS vanished to background), you know the option "always on top" in options of RS.
On which version of Windows you are working ?( because on Windows10 I encounter weird behaviour for some programs, not for RS , that works perfect, but I only alow one instance to run)

vorticity
Posts: 12
Joined: 26 Dec 2015, 15:00

Re: Unrecoverable trapped in taskmanager after Escape ...

Post by vorticity » 19 Mar 2020, 11:02

Hi Fonzy,

thanks for your advice: I was not aware of that, checked it - but unfortunately no success.

I think the reason for this is the fact, that I cannot make Radiosure the 'active task' - it cannot be reached using Alt-Tab.

It happens now and then and is annoying: Alt-Ctrl-Del: kill Radiosure task, restart...

Maybe there comes up another idea...

Refards, Bernd.

Jazzfan
Posts: 52
Joined: 06 Mar 2019, 20:31

Re: Unrecoverable trapped in taskmanager after Escape ...

Post by Jazzfan » 13 Jun 2021, 18:29

Happened to see this old post. This app behavior is present in both Windows 7 and 10. Solution works for both Windows 7 and 10.

ESC minimizes to the 'System Tray.

This is not listed as a default hotkey (only PRO versions can customize),
ESC will minimize to system tray whether hotkeys are enabled or not.

If RadioSure window is not visible, check notifications. If it still is not visible, check screen resolution. Did you change PC monitors? RadioSure loads the app at a specific location on screen, based on resolution when it was installed, and where you positioned it.

User avatar
Fonzy
Posts: 554
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 22:43
Location: Belgium

Re: Unrecoverable trapped in taskmanager after Escape ...

Post by Fonzy » 13 Jun 2021, 19:09

To be franc, I tried to use the ESC button on keyboard both with hotkeys on and with them off, and hitting ESC while radio sure plays or not , does NOTHING in windows 10, nor in WinXP. the default settings for hotkeys are not using the ESC key.
I tried this , with only RS active. Maybe the ESC acts if other programs are active as well , I try this also now:
result : I tried with at same time Google earth, Paint shop pro5, and webbrowser active toghether with RadioSureplayer active. None of the programs react on hitting the esc key, so the esc must be configured in your systems , to act under windows.
To be honest I do never use hotkeys, in none program, so I have disabled them all where I can.
My RS player (pro) has option to minimize to system tray,

Post Reply